The Columbia Basic College Hawks from Pasco, WA, won the Pacific Rim Regional Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition ( CCDC) on April 13, despite this being the team’s first time competing. Western Washington University’s team, from Bellingham, WA, came in second.

At the Western Regional competition March 1820, Cal Poly Pomona’s team triumphed over competitors including the University of Advancing Technology, Tempe, AZ (second place);  the University of California, Berkeley (third place); and Stanford University (fourth place).

Columbia Basin College, Western Washington University, and Cal Poly Pomona are all members of CyberWatch West, which sponsors both WRCCDC and PRCCDC.

The winning teams will travel to San Antonio, TX, to participate in the 2016 national championship April 2224.

They’ll complete against eight other teams from around the United States. Like Columbia Basic College, the University of Tulsa (Southwest Region) will be new to the national competition. So will Liberty University, Lynchburg, VA, which has competed at the Mid-Atlantic Regionals for just three years.  

The University of Alaska Anchorage beat the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) at the At-Large Regionals for the first time; UAF had gone to Nationals for the four years straight. Brigham Young University’s team is getting attention because of its rare 50/50 split between male and female players (Rocky Mountain Region).

Other competing teams have become regulars at the Nationals. Chicago’s DePaul University won the Midwest Regionals in 2010 and again in 2015. Dakota State University’s team has represented the North Central Region three times in the last seven years. The Northeastern University team from Boston (Northeast) were the CCDC champions in 2010.

The final regional competition in 2016, for the Southeast region, took place April 67. For the third year in a row, the winners were the University of Central Florida Knights—the team that won the national championships in 2014 and 2015.