Scheduled Events

Flat View
By Year
Monthly View
By Month
Weekly View
By Week
Daily View

CWW Member Meeting: NSF Grant Opportunities

Friday, March 23, 2018, 09:00am - 10:00am


At this CWW online Member Meeting, two representatives of the National Science Foundation will present on federal grant opportunities that are especially relevant to community colleges and to cybersecurity education programs. 


Logo of the National Science FoundationNational Science Foundation (NSF) grants have funded the work of CyberWatch West for more than six years, and other NSF grants have supported educational institutions' pursuit of the CAE designation and the development of new cybersecurity curriculum. This presentation will provide practical information on how you can apply for federal grants to grow your cybersecurity program. 


Dr. Corby Hovis and Dr. Elizabeth Teles of the NSF will discuss


Dr. Corby Hovis is a senior program officer at the National Science Foundation in Alexandria, VA, where he oversees the NSF-wide Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) program, which provides structured research experiences to over 5,000 college and university students each year. For many years, he has also worked in NSF's grant programs that support cybersecurity education, including the Advanced Technological Education (ATE) program, which funds projects to improve technician education at two-year colleges, and the CyberCorps: Scholarship for Service (SFS) program, which provides scholarships and supports other activities to build strong educational programs in cybersecurity at colleges and universities.


Dr. Elizabeth Teles retired from NSF as the lead program director of the Advanced Technological Education (ATE) program and as a program director for mathematics education, as well as the NSF Liaison for Community Colleges, in January 2009. She now works for NSF part-time, assisting with the management of the ATE program, the NSF Scholarships in STEM (S-STEM) program, and other programs in the Division of Undergraduate Education. In 2008, she received NSF's Meritorious Service Award, the second-highest honorary award at the Foundation, for her work on behalf of community colleges and her leadership in the ATE program.


To participate in this free online member event, sign up in advance on CyberWatch West's registration page:


Representatives of CyberWatch West educational members and industry partners will be approved to attend before the meeting begins at 9 a.m. Pacific Standard Time.   


Location Online

Contact Please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you have problems registering.